The National Center and State Collaborative (NCSC) is developing a multi‐state comprehensive assessment system for students with significant cognitive disabilities. The project draws on research to develop an alternate assessment system that is linked to clear learning outcomes and defensible assessment results, to complement the work of the Race to the Top Common State Assessment Program (RTTA) consortia.

The thirteen NCSC state partners include:

  • Arizona
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Indiana
  • Louisiana
  • Pacific Assessment Consortium (PAC‐6)*
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Wyoming

*Note: The 6 entities (American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Republic of Palau, Republic of the Marshall Islands) partner as one state, led by the University of Guam’s Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities Education, Research, and Service (CEDDERS).

NCSC logo